How to read a book 之阅读分级

Four “levels of reading”: elementary, inspectional, analytical, and syntopical.

Elementary reading is the skill of converting symbols on a page into meaning.

Inspectional reading is the systematic skimming of a book for its key ideas under time constraints.

Analytical reading is systematic reading without time constraints, and its goal is to increase understanding.

Syntopical reading compares the material in different books and can even lead to a reader’s original analysis of a subject, an analysis derived from the reading of certain books, but one that is not actually in any of them.

这些年,我的阅读都是在Level I and Level II。希望可以做一些 Analytical reading。 Snytopical reading 过一段再说。



Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: 徽标

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  更改 )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  更改 )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  更改 )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  更改 )


Connecting to %s